What’s Next?

This is the time of year that I start thinking about the next school year. What will it look like for us in six months?

At this point I can’t really say. I can say that I am tired of dragging my kids back and forth to local kindergarten/preschool every day. I’m tired of the “I don’t want to go to detski cad” every single morning. I’m tired of rushing through our phonics and math every afternoon. I’m tired of attitudes that I see creeping up but lacking the time to deal with them appropriately and completely. The longer we do this, the more I don’t want to do it again next year. I want to have time for family devotions, to play math games and bake with my kids. I want to have time to go to the park when the weather is nice and let them explore and collect pinecones and twigs and leaves. I feel my kids growing up and leaving already and I’m analyzing the cost vs. benefits of our current plan.

Is it worth the above things for my kids to understand Russian pretty well? They don’t speak at school and are shy to speak with anyone we have in our home. What is more important: that my kids are able to speak Russian and befriend local children or that they are kind to one another and are able to be friends with each other for the remainder of their lives? I hate rushing them in the mornings to get dressed and eat and get out the door, only to come home and then us be rushing to do schoolwork and take baths and do some semblance of chores and so on. I see great value in them having local friends. I see great value in my having more peaceful mornings. But I don’t want to get to the end of my life, or the end of their childhoods, and wish that I had had more time with them. Wish that I had spent more time investing in them. Wish that I had made them more of a priority, instead of what I think is best for them.

So right now I am leaning towards homeschooling 100% and maybe enrolling them in local art classes, gymnastics, or something of the sort. Continuing to have our nanny come a day or two a week for a few hours to expose them to Russian regularly. And letting it lie there. Maybe I’ll be more exhausted a year from now than I am now. Maybe my Russian won’t be any better because I’ve been with my kids most of the time instead of with Russian speakers. But maybe my kids will love each other, and us, better. Maybe they’ll play together better. Maybe they’ll be even better friends than they already are. And maybe, just maybe, they’ll be speaking Russian with neighbors and classmates from extracurriculars. And that would be the best of both worlds.

Leave a Reply

